DEMOLITION DERBY

Brianna at the Demolition Derby Brianna at the Demolition Derby

So this weekend I had the pleasure of going to the Colusa County Fair.  My friend Scott is from Colusa, which is a town of about 6000 people outside of Sacramento, and he still lives there.  The city has a mostly agricultural base, so the County Fair is obviously a big deal.  The Demolition Derby takes place on the closing day, and Scott says it is the town’s most exciting event of the year.  And jesus christ it was pretty dang magical.  The whole night seemed technicolor.  Scott said it was the dust in the air.  Maybe it was all the exhaust I inhaled.  Even afterwards as we wandered down the midway, all the lights from the rides looked especially beautiful and vivid.  

Here is a video of the start of the Derby that I think is really nice.  For me it’s all about the ferris wheel in the background.

 

So sometime during the ride up I had started talking about The Zipper.  All my ex-boyfriends know how I love the Zipper.  What?  You don’t know what the Zipper is?!?  No, it’s not that, silly!  It’s an awesome ride they have at county fairs that spins you up and down and around AND upside down all at the same time.  (Just watch the video and you’ll see)  For some reason when we finally found the Zipper after the derby winners had been announced, I almost didn’t go.  $5?!?  no way!!!  I said.  Even after I had talked it up for hours.  “Erika,”  Brianna said, “listen to the screams.  It’s worth 5 bucks.”  And you know what?  She was right!

Here is a video of the Zipper.  I think it gets real good at about 9 seconds, when it starts to look like the cars are just falling out of the sky:

Yeah listen to those screams!  That is exactly how I sounded, except louder.

 

Colusa County Fair

Dusk at the Demolition Derby

me and brianna at the fair (thanks andrew!)

same time next year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DEMOLITION DERBY

  1. Joanne says:

    Check out http://3sisterschat.wordpress.com/ for another demolition derby post. What fun at any age!

Leave a Reply

